My Story

As far back as I can remember I always thought teaching would be a great profession.  I even remember playing school as a young child.  However, by the time I got into college, my interests changed and I got my degree in criminal justice and then went on to get a certificate in paralegal training.  I got married soon after college and I worked as a litigation paralegal for the first few years of my marriage.

After two kids and a move from Montana to New Jersey (where I grew up as a child), I became a full-time mom. Fast forward to four kids and still in New Jersey, I knew I needed to go to work full time.  Unfortunately, I knew that it would be impossible to have the summers off in the paralegal field and I didn’t want to put my kids in daycare all summer long.  I asked myself, what else did you like?  Well, I love math.  And if I became a math teacher I could have the summers “off” when my kids had off.  So, I enrolled in the local university to begin my second degree.

After finishing a course in the Philosophy of Teaching, I decided to go to the school I graduated from to see about substitute teaching while I was finishing my degree.  I walked in to the middle school in jeans and with my youngest daughter.  I told the secretary there that I was going back to school and wanted to do some substitute teaching to gain experience while I was finishing my degree. She innocently asked what I was getting my degree in and I said math.  She asked me to stay right there.  Okay… She left and a moment later came back with the principal. The principal asked me into her office.  My daughter sat outside while I went in to chat with her.  When she started to ask me about my philosophy of teaching I realized I was in a full blown interview. Yikes! It just so happened that they would be needing a middle school math teacher for next year.  After two more interviews I was offered the job and I have been teaching at the same school for the past 16 years.

During the first few years of teaching full time, I went to school at night and finished up my degree and then got my teaching certificate .  However, I still didn’t feel like I knew enough to be the teacher I wanted to be.  So I started to look online to see if there was anything there that could help me with my lesson plans.  Was there ever! It just so happened that I stumbled on several great teaching blogs and a MTBoS challenge.  The MTBoS walked me through creating my own blog and getting me setup on twitter.  I would never have done that on my own!

I do not remember the first few blogs that got me started on this incredible journey, but I do know that my teaching has never been the same since I found this amazing resource!  I could not have done it without the help of so many people, most of whom I’ve never met in person.  I still aspire to be that great teacher and through the help of many great people on the MTBoS, I will continue to grow to be the teacher I want to be.

One thought on “My Story

Leave a Reply

